Get Cracking on Call Tracking

Spending hundreds or even thousands of dollars setting up multiple telephone lines and assigning different ad codes to each, then piling through dozens of sheets of call logs is what most people envision when they think of call tracking. After all, that’s how it was done a decade ago and beyond. But, today it’s a whole lot simpler and cheaper.

A good SEM or marketing company can take care of all the complicated bits and pieces and just let you enjoy the benefit of knowing what calls came in from where – and what was said, if that’s of interest.

Here’s what you should expect:

Expect to pay $25 to $40 per month, per additional phone line initiated for call tracking purposes and possibly a “per minute” rate of 10 or so cents. One new unique call tracking number per voice line (whose number is on your website) is usually enough. And remember, this is on inbound calls only, so your per minute costs can easily be minimized.

Expect to provide a “forward to” phone number. This can be any telephone line or even a cell phone.

Expect to be asked to record a short message or have the company do it for you – usually at no additional charge.

Expect to be given the option to have the inbound calls recorded “for quality and training purposes” (with caller notification of course).

Expect to receive a call tracking console login of your own so you can check your stats or even listen to recorded calls anytime you wish.

Expect to receive a regular report that provides all of your call stats in an easy to understand manner. This is typically provided on a monthly basis.

And finally, expect to get more useful information out of this call tracking information than you ever thought possible.

With your very first report you will be able to spot calls that dropped off in less than one minute, and even those who just hung up. You will be able to listen in on calls to see how your employees treat customers and how customers treat employees. No more “he said, she said” headaches!

Digging Deeping Into the PPC Spend

Now you know exactly where your PPC ad budget is best spent. You can even take it a step further and swap out landing pages with different keywords to find the ultimate best deal.

Incidentally, these are real numbers taken from a real account, rounded for simplicity sake in this example. This is not guess-work. It’s historic data that a good SEM company will use regularly to tweak your ad spend and maximize your return on investment.

What was the end result? In this particular case we were able to get this client down to $1.63 per click with 38 clicks needed on average per conversion for a cost of just under $62 per conversion. When they came to us, they were spending $148 per conversion on average.

Ad ID     CPC        CTC        CPT

1              $2.00     50           $100.00

2              $2.50     60           $150.00

3              $1.75     40           $70.00

4              $1.63     38           $61.94

Does this sound crazy expensive? Here’s the really crazy part. At $148 per conversion they were still making money so they never questioned it. Now they make a TON of additional bottom line profit and continually reinvest some of the saved revenue into testing new keywords and campaigns. That’s smart business. Not all campaigns are winners like this, but their lowest producing campaign is still less than $95 per conversion on a $1,600 sale.

Just think about it. It takes only minutes to set up a goal in Google Analytics and doing so can help you increase profits exponentially. Where is the downside?

Advanced Tip: If you have a multi-part form (such as a 2 or 3-step sign-up process) you can quickly add a funnel to learn just about everything you ever wanted to know about where conversions come from, and where they go to die.

PPC Ad Spend Example

Let’s check out an example… Say you have three pay-per-click (PPC) ads running and each leads to a different landing page containing a unique offer. Ad 1 goes to landing page 1, or LP1, Ad 2 goes to LP2, etc. In a matter of minutes, you can enter each landing page URL as a goal to be tracked as well as each thank you page (the visitor hits after completing the form fill or other call to action). Since the user will only visit that page after completing the call to action, this can be considered a conversion or simply another goal, as you wish.

If Ad 1 is based on a keyword that costs $2 per click, and it typically takes fifty clicks before someone actually completes the call to action to become a solid conversion, you now know it takes $100 per conversion – whether that “conversion” is a form fill, sale, or whatever.

How about Ad 2? Thanks to Analytics we can see that the keyword for that ad costs an average of $2.50 and takes about sixty clicks to get a conversion; so it is costing us $2.50 x 60 = $150 per conversion. Wow! With that little bit of change tacked onto the cost per click and a few more clicks it really ads up fast.

Let’s look at Ad 3. It costs $1.75 per click and it typically takes forty clicks to convert. A little quick math tells us that $1.75 x 40 = $70 – or less than half of what Ad 2 costs per conversion.

We just multiply the Cost Per Click by the number of Clicks To Convert, to get the Cost Per Transaction (or per lead).

ID #        CPC        CTC        CPT

1              $2.00     50           $100.00

2              $2.50     60           $150.00

3              $1.75     40           $70.00

 

ID# = Ad Identification Number (1-3)

CPC = Cost Per Click

CTC = Clicks To Convert

CPT = Cost Per Transaction

 

 

Goals and Conversions

We briefly mentioned goals and conversions when we looked at Google Analytics, but the topic deserves some more attention, so let’s dig in.

Goal and conversion tracking is the info you would have paid hand over fist for just a few years ago, and Google provides it for free. So, why is this data so valuable? Because it lets you create your own repeatable process as a future shortcut to success – in whatever area you wish.

Looking for form fills? Goals and conversion data can show you not only that a form fill was completed, but whether  it came from a paid source (like PPC), organic search, or if it was a referral from a banner ad, blog post, or article. That’s powerful stuff. Once you have insight to this previously hidden world of information, the online world is your oyster.

A Note on Cookies

As you just saw, cookies can help you learn a lot about your visitors via Google Analytics. But what are cookies? Great question!

Cookies are just small text files stored on your computer. Some of these, called “session cookies”, will disappear once you close out your browser, but most will stay in your hard drive. They are simply there to identify you to the web page you are visiting to eliminate the need for you to re-select user preferences, etc.

Like all good cookies, they come in different flavors… First-party cookies, the kind that Google Analytics uses (and the least intrusive) are bits of text set by the same domain that is currently in your browser’s address bar. Third-party cookies are considered more intrusive, and therefore are more commonly blocked.

Google Analytics – Ideal; But Not Perfect

But be warned, Google Analytics is not perfect. It’s absolutely amazing for a free tool that does not pour through your server logs, but as such it has some small drawbacks.

For example, it uses “first party” cookies (small bits of code it saves to the user’s computer), which are the least intrusive kind, but still cookies none the less. This means that while Analytics will pick up on probably ninety-eight percent of your traffic or more, there is that small segment that declines all cookies. Hence you won’t get accurate tracking on that segment.

A bit inconvenient? Yes, but not really a big deal. The great news is that your site will work just fine for these people as well as those who accept cookies. You just won’t have accurate tracking for that tiny group of visitors.

To summarize, not taking advantage of Google Analytics is absolutely insane. If nothing else, you should install the basic script with no special goals or funnels and let the data collect.

Without the customizations you won’t have the in-depth reporting that makes this tool better than most paid versions, but you will have the basic data that any SEO company, marketing expert, or web specialist will need down the road when you want to get more business.

Google Analytics Dashboard

So what can Google Analytics tell you about your visitors? More than most people ever dream!

Of course, there is the regular stuff like:

•             Seeing the exact keywords people use to find your site

•             Knowing what pages visitors enter and leave from

•             Having a virtual stopwatch tell you average time on site

•             Understanding what pages are most popular and when

•             Discovering which search engines are driving the most – or the most qualified traffic

•             Picking out the referring web pages to see where your traffic is coming from – other than search engines

But there is so much more. You can also…

•             Set goals to track every time an action is taken, such as a purchase made, form submitted, etc.

•             Create funnels to see where people drop off during multi-part form fills or purchases

•             Exclude traffic stats from any undesired source…so you don’t count your own hits, for example

•             Learn what browsers visitors use most so you can use your web design budget wisely

•             Automate reporting and have the results emailed

•             Setup conversion goals then check and track the results by geography

This is just the beginning. Far too many people overlook what Google Analytics can do for their business so maybe this will help. Six or seven years ago most companies had to pay upward of one thousand dollars (or even more) per year to get just half of this data. And, if you used a marketing company to track your stats and offer reports not nearly as in-depth as those offered by Google Analytics for free, you likely paid several hundred dollars per report.

Keeping Track with Google Analytics

If you managed a website back in the late 1990’s you probably remember having two choices in analytics: pay for an app like “WebTrends” or  simply guess how people were finding your products and services online. That all changed with Google Analytics in late 2005 (which evolved from “Urchin”).

With Google Analytics, anyone could get world-class analytical data about their website for free. And, it is so much easier to use than anything before. All you have to do is sign up for a free account, enter in your URL, and paste a little snippet of Java-Script code into each web page’s activity you wanted tracked.

Talk about cheap and easy! I remember paying a small fortune and jumping through virtual flaming hoops to get half that much useful data just a few short years before.

SOPA, PIPA, and the Future of the Internet

Prior to yesterday, there was a good chance that most folks hadn’t heard of or didn’t care about the two bills making their way through Congress, the Stop Internet Piracy Act (SOPA) and the Protect IP Act (PIPA). But that was before the efforts of some exceptionally well-known names in the internet world made some rather bold statements in opposition to the bills.

On Wednesday, January 18, Wikipedia – a non-profit online encyclopedia, and one of the most trafficked sites on the web – blacked out the English language version of their site in protest, shutting it down for 24 hours. In its place was information about PIPA and SOPA, as well as links and contact information for Congressmen for every district in the United States. Google, while not taking quite the drastic measure of shutting down its site, nevertheless showed solidarity by obscuring the logo on its home page with a large black bar, and linking to an online petition against the two bills.

So why the protest? The two bills are intended to help fight online piracy by making it easier to shut down sites that sell counterfeit goods or facilitate the illegal download of entertainment properties. However, legal experts have expressed concern that the language is too broad, and could force internet service providers to block access to offending sites without due process. Many in the internet industry fear that SOPA or PIPA could lay the groundwork for further federal government infringement upon the freedom of the internet, pointing to China’s draconian censorship of the web for its citizens.

The bills are supported by a number of corporate interests, including Fox News and Nike, as well entertainment industry organizations such as the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) and the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). However, broad public opposition (Wikipedia says that over 8 million site visitors looked up their Congressional representatives’ contact information Wednesday, while Google’s online petition amassed 4.5 million signatures) appears to have had a significant impact: eight Congressmen have withdrawn support for the two bills, including two original co-sponsors.

Google Instant Preview

Google Instant Preview is a bit of a milestone. Knowing they cannot always keep the lower quality sites from being found in a top search position, Google has added a feature that allows users to preview what a page looks like before committing to a click. This feature could be a game-changer – if it catches on.

It’s a pretty simple in concept. Anytime you see the small magnifying glass in the upper right-hand corner of the search result, you can click on it or any white space within that search result area and an instant preview will appear to the right.

Here is how Google describes the benefits of this new feature:

Quickly Compare Results

A visual comparison of search results helps you pick which result is right for you.

Pinpoint Relevant Content

Text call outs highlight where your search term appears on the web page so you can evaluate if it’s what you’re looking for.

Interact with the Results Page

Page previews let you see the layout of a web page before clicking the search result.

 

After reading the benefits of Google Instant Preview and actually seeing it for yourself, you can likely understand how this could change the way people choose to visit web pages. Now, they can just preview each page and see what it looks like.

And, if you are thinking “who cares?” I’ve got bad news for you: people really do judge a book by its cover and they most certainly judge a website by appearance – within two seconds of a screen-shot scan!

By the way, if Google Instant Preview sounds familiar it’s because Bing did something very similar more than a year ago. Go to Bing.com and check it out. It’s still in place today.

You can think of Google Instant Preview as a 2.0 version of the technology. It eliminates the need to “commit to the click.”

For you this simply means your preview needs to impress searchers as much as your keywords impress search engines.

 

New Rule #9                      Take The 2 Second Test

 

Now that people no longer need to visit your website to see if they like it, you need to look at it in a whole new way – with fresh eyes, and for no longer than 2 seconds. That’s how much time the average person will spend looking at it before they commit to the click. So print out some color screenshots of your home-page and a few of your top online competitors and honestly choose which is best – with just 2 seconds to decide.